Viva Viola

Wednesday 16th August  7.30  St Michael at the Northgate
Tickets £12, Students U 18 half price













Emma Sheppard (viola)


  1. Sonata for viola and piano No 1 in F minor Op 120 No 1Johannes Brahms
  2. Sonata for viola and piano No 2 in E flat Op 120 No 2Johannes Brahms
  3. Quincurulia for solo viola Tim Perkins
  4. Gothenburg Waltz (Waltz Impromptu No 1), for viola and piano Julian Jacobson
  5. First Meeting: Souvenir for viola and piano Eric Coates
  6. Four Pieces for viola and piano Op 42Robin Milford

One of the UK’s leading violists, Emma Sheppard is joined by the internationally acclaimed pianist Julian Jacobson.

Of his last chamber works, Brahms’s Op 120 sonatas are cornerstones of the viola repertoire. Magnificent craftsmanship melds with great expressive depth: by turns passionate; probing; and playful. These works are distillations of the essence of Brahms, tinged with an autumnal nostalgia well suited to the dark hues of the viola. The works are paired with some British miniatures, each evocative and themselves an expressive distillation that shows off the viola, often referred to as “the composer’s instrument” as Mozart, Beethoven and others favoured it for their own performance.





Tickets from Oxford Playhouse

01865 305305


For General Enquiries:


t: 01865 842336


Photographs of Mami Shikimori by Andres Landino

Photograph of Sheldonian concert by Bernard Mattimore

Oxford Proms logo designed by architect Barnaby Wheeler R.I.B.A

Subscribe to our Newsletter